Dr. Hazel N. Dukes to Receive NAACP Highest Honor, The Prestigious Springarn Award

Hazel N. Dukes, president of the NAACP New York State Conference, is being honored with the NAACP Spingarn Medal for her 70-plus years of fighting for equality, groundbreaking activism, and courageous leadership. The 114th National Convention’s Spingarn Freedom Fund Awards Dinner in Boston is where the medal will be given out.

The NAACP Spingarn Medal is awarded annually to a live African American who has accomplished something truly exceptional in a field of merit over the past year or years. Dr. Dukes, who serves as the President of the New York State Conference now, will be honored for the tremendous impact she has made on the Association in her many capacities as a leader.

The civil rights activist who fought housing discrimination in Roslyn, NY more than 50 years ago is a prominent participant in the NAACP’s governance, serving on the organization’s Executive Committee and numerous subcommittees. Aside from being a prominent figure in her New York neighborhood, Hazel N. Dukes is also the President of the consulting firm she co-founded, Hazel N. Dukes & Associates.

“Dr. Dukes is a woman of profound strength and courage, who has served as an unwavering pillar in our community for more than fifty years,” NAACP President & CEO, Derrick Johnson shared.“Led by her fierce determination, she has improved the lives of countless Black Americans and New Yorkers while bringing about lasting change that will be felt in the Black community for generations to come. Our network of 2 million activists continues to be inspired by, and learn from Dr. Dukes’ tireless pursuit of justice. We are incredibly proud of the work she has done for us and are honored to present Dr. Dukes with our highest distinction.”

The then-Chairman of the NAACP Board of Directors, Joel E. Spingarn, established the annual award in 1914. As the latest recipient of the Spingarn Medal, Dukes, 91, who has been a key player in voting rights, will join a who’s who in African American history so honored, including Charles Drew, Cicely Tyson, Daisy Bates, Earl G. Graves Sr., George Washington Carver, Harry Belafonte, Jackie Robinson, James Clyburn, Jesse L. Jackson, Maya Angelou, Martin Luther King, Jr., Mrs. Daisy Bates, Myrlie, Evers-Williams, the Honorable Nathaniel Jones, Oprah Winfrey, Quincy Jones, Sidney Poitier, and W.E.B. DuBois.

  • Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this web site needs much more consideration. I’ll in all probability be again to read far more, thanks for that info.

Comments are closed.